Aston Villa squad numbers confirmed for 2022/23 season

Aston Villa have confirmed the squad numbers for the 2022/23 season, with new signings Boubacar Kamara and Diego Carlos added to the list this year.

Villa get our Premier League campaign underway on Saturday as we travel to the Vitality Stadium to face newly-promoted Bournemouth, in what will be a tough atmosphere and game first up.

READ MORE: Why Chukwuemeka’s exit is disappointing but Villa’s stance faultless

However, having made it through our pre-season schedule with no notable injuries and our new signings having adapted and acclimatised to their new surroundings, it’s hoped that we have the quality and sharpness to make a positive start to the new season and get three points on the board early.

With final preparations underway this week, Villa have officially announced the squad numbers for the season, and while many would already have been aware given the numbers that players wore over the course of our pre-season schedule, these are now confirmed for the year.

Marquee summer signings Carlos and Kamara will wear No.3 and No.44 respectively, while the other significant change is that Danny Ings will take on the No.9 shirt this season.

Time will tell if there is still more transfer business to be done as players could still leave or be loaned out, while there is ongoing speculation that Steven Gerrard is still eyeing further reinforcements, and so this is unlikely to be the final list.

That said, it gives an indication as to who has formed part of his plans to this point and which youngsters perhaps will be involved at senior level this season. The main focus though will be securing a win on Saturday, regardless of who features in our Premier League season-opener.

Full list of Aston Villa squad numbers for the 2022/23 season:

1 Emiliano Martínez
2 Matty Cash
3 Diego Carlos
4 Ezri Konsa
5 Tyrone Mings
6 Douglas Luiz
7 John McGinn
8 Morgan Sanson
9 Danny Ings
10 Emiliano Buendía
11 Ollie Watkins
12 Jed Steer
15 Bertrand Traore
16 Calum Chambers
17 Ludwig Augustinsson
18 Ashley Young
19 Marvelous Nakamba
21 Anwar El Ghazi
23 Philippe Coutinho
24 Frederic Guilbert
25 Robin Olsen
27 Lucas Digne
29 Kaine Kesler Hayden
30 Kortney Hause
31 Leon Bailey
32 Jaden Philogene-Bidace
35 Cameron Archer
39 Keinan Davis
40 Aaron Ramsey
41 Jacob Ramsey
42 Filip Marschall
44 Boubacar Kamara
45 Ben Chrisene
47 Tim Iroegbunam
48 Oliwier Zych
59 Josh Feeney